Class Schedule

The Niyamas

The Niyamas are the second of the 8 limbs of yoga. The Niyamas are the disciplines of self-study, introspection, and self purifications. Below you will find ideas to practice each of the 5 Niyamas.  Take my yoga class Here and learn more about the Niyamas.

NIYAMAS -Self Observances

1 SAUCHA Purifications for body and mind, cleansing techniques

Ways to Practice Saucha

2 SANTOSHA Contentment, peace, gratitude

Ways to Practice Santosha

  • Keep a gratitude journal
  • Meditate
  • Practice being less reactive
  • Chant, sing, or dance as a meditation
  • Take time every day to do your favorite activity

3 TAPAS Self-discipline, the fire within

Ways to practice Tapas

  • Do a strong yoga workout to build inner heat
  • Make a list of self-care activities that you will do every day
  • Make a list of rules for yourself (ex. no electronics 2 hours before bed)
  • Try a new activity and do it for one month, even if it’s just 10 minutes a day
  • The second you wake up in the morning, ask yourself what you want to manifest for the day

4 SVADYAYA Self-study, study of ancient texts

Ways to practice Svadyaya

  • Meditate
  • Read some of the great teachings of yoga, such as Bhagavad Gita or The Path of the Yoga Sutras
  • Listen to the wisdom of some great teachers on Youtube, such as Mooji (see Youtube video –
  • Be conscious of what is harming you physically and mentally, such as excessive sitting in one position, the food you eat, or obsessive behavior.
  • On the mat, be aware of where you are letting ego take over instead of honoring what is best for you.

5 ISHVARA Connection beyond our small self, surrender

Ways to practice Ishvara

  • Practice yoga Nidra (try the free App Insight Timer)
  • Practice Savasana (8 minutes at the end of a yoga practice)
  • Listen to meditation by Mooji on Youtube
  • Repeat a daily mantra such as “not my will, but thy will be done.”
  • Chant Daily